Due to the nature of my business, I have to travel a lot not only in Japan but also to many other places around the globe. In terms of breaking the fasts during Ramadan, of course, every non-Muslim country poses its own peculiar challenges and, Japan is no exception to that.
As it is difficult for us to find any Halal items while travelling on the road, driving on a highway or simply riding a train in Tokyo, Osaka or any other cities in the country, you need to have something handy so that you can break the fast when the Iftar (fast-breaking) time comes.
As I have to carry at least my office bag every time I go out on a business trip, the safest bet for me becomes picking up few dates and a bottle of a juice. I can grab some soft drink anywhere I want quite easily. However, I have to pick up dates from home while going out.
If you get caught up in a similar situation like I do while travelling, you may want to grab at least the dates and some juice plus any other item which you can easily carry without putting any burden upon yourself.
In fact, buying dates from halal Food shops is quite easy these days. This is the food which unifies the far-flung Muslim communities all over the planet. The dates have become almost a staple food for most of the Muslims during the Iftar times in Ramadan.
One other food item which has got my attention these days is the first-ever Halal cake one of our partner company introduced few weeks ago. The beauty of the cake is that it has a long shelf life, you can carry it easily and it is available in all the major Halal food stores all over Japan.
Still another option for breaking the fast while travelling in Japan could be some other fruits of your choice plus any ready-to-eat-halal food dish which you can purchase from any Halal food shop all over the country.
Some Halal friendly restaurants have also started offering free or paid Iftar in different parts of Japan.
If you are not able to find dates for breaking your fast in Japan, you may grab some dairy products like yougrut and milk from any nearby convenience store or a super market. However, the problem with these dairy products is that all not types of yougruts are considered halal by the observant Muslim community living in the country.
Leave a Reply